God of War Wins the 2018 "Game of the Year" Award

God of War Wins the 2018

It was also fantastic to see so many great indie games get their moment in the spotlight, with awards going to the mobile masterpiece Florence, the super-stylish detective game Return of the Obra Dinn, the high-stakes strategy drama of Into the Breach, and the frenetic and ever-refreshing action of Dead Cells.

No Man's Sky developer Hello Games also revealed a new animated game called The Last Campfire, while a new Mortal Kombat game - Mortal Kombat 11 - was also announced.

Fortnite was also among the winners - picking up the award for best ongoing game and best multiplayer.

The Game Awards was created in 2014 by media entrepreneur Geoff Keighley.

God of War had to contend with Celeste, Assassin's Creed Odyssey, Spider-Man, Monster Hunter: World, and Red Dead Redemption 2 for Game of the Year.

God of War, a PlayStation exclusive, was nominated in eight categories alongside Red Dead Redemption 2 and also took home Best Game Direction and Best Action-Adventure Game. What time is the Game Awards, and what date will it air on? There are also teases from Obsidian and even a glimpse of Splinter Cell 's Sam Fisher can be seen in a hype video for the awards ceremony. Other confirmed guests include Academy Award-winning actor Christoph Waltz, Weezer lead vocalist Rivers Cuomo and Avengers directors the Russo Brothers.

The pre-show will start at 5:30 PM PST / 8:30 PM EST, while the main course kicks off at 6 PM PST / 9 PM EST. It's on sale on the eShop right now as part of the TGA sale, and if you haven't yet picked it up, I urge you to do so at the first opportunity - you can get it on Amazon today. There's sure to be plenty else worth tuning in for. Let us know your thoughts in the comments section below.

Related Articles